Noahlk
Aspirant

Nighthawk X8 R8500 netgear downloader

Why do the routers below the r8500 have the netgear downloader option but the supposed higher end one doesn't have this simple option? Is it coming should I just switch to Kong? Any suggestions anyone netgear reps care to chime in? I have a had attached to USB 3 port awesome being able to share files but would like to be able to use the netgear downloader function also.

Model: R8500|Nighthawk X8 Tri-Band AC5300 WiFi Router
Message 1 of 44
ElaineM
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Nighthawk X8 R8500 netgear downloader

Hi @Noahlk

Welcome to the community!

The NETGEAR Downloader will be added in the next firmware release.

ElaineM
NETGEAR Community Team
Message 2 of 44
Noahlk
Aspirant

Hi Elaine,

Thanks for the info any insider info you might have on the release date of the new firmware? As I am new to the router I was not able to find the release dates of each firmware in the release notes only last updated so couldn't tell if every month or longer or less.  Thanks in advance!

Noah

Message 3 of 44
ElaineM
NETGEAR Employee Retired

I cannot guarantee but it might be this October.

ElaineM
NETGEAR Community Team
Message 4 of 44
Izzudin
Tutor

Any news about the firmware update? Already end of the year and still no netgear downloader on r8500...
Message 5 of 44
ElaineM
NETGEAR Employee Retired

This firmware will be rolled out soon. 

ElaineM
NETGEAR Community Team
Message 6 of 44
Noahlk
Aspirant

So just updated the firmware and still nothing I hope it doesn't end up being just pipe dreams two firmwares and still no downloader or improvements to ui, I hope full mimo comes soon too!

Let's keep our fingers crossed guys for this absolute great product getting even better!!!

Message 7 of 44
Izzudin
Tutor

It's mid feb already... is the firmware with netgear downloader coming soon?

Message 8 of 44
dcinca
Apprentice

It's mid March already... I am thinking not buying Netgear products for my next router.