Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

R6700v3 Wired connection CAPPED at 200mbs

BabyIT
Aspirant

R6700v3 Wired connection CAPPED at 200mbs

Hello everyone, 

Im new to this thread posting but i need some assitance on my router. 

Equipement: R6700v3 

Firmware: v1.0.4.106

Testing via hardwire and using multiple site to test such as speedtest, speakeasy, and my works monitoring system. 

I have read a few older threads regarding the mbs capping out at a certain limit and have more questions here is my concern, I have my ISP packet at 1gig. I have had a technician come out and verify connectiy and connection and test results come back at roughly 920-960mbs using the companies All in One Modem/Router directly into my PC. 

Once i plug in my Netgear r6700 my speeds max out at roughly 190-215 mbs. What could be the issue causing the huge downgrade on my connection. should i have certain setting on or off? i have just completed a factory reset so setting are at factory. 

Message 1 of 5

Re: R6700v3 Wired connection CAPPED at 200mbs

@BabyIT wrote:

I have had a technician come out and verify connectiy and connection and test results come back at roughly 920-960mbs using the companies All in One Modem/Router directly into my PC. 

Once i plug in my Netgear r6700 my speeds max out at roughly 190-215 mbs. What could be the issue causing the huge downgrade on my connection. should i have certain setting on or off? i have just completed a factory reset so setting are at factory. 

The issue could be using a router after a router. Two routers on your network can cause headaches. For example, you can end up with local address problems. Among other things, the other router can misdirect addresses that the Netgear router usually handles, such as routerlogin.net or the usual IP address for a router, 192.168.1.1.

This explains some of the other drawbacks.

What is Double NAT? | Answer | NETGEAR Support

The symptoms you describe are a classic "Double NAT" phenomenon.