Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: R7000 Nighawk Internet speed limited

annistyt
Aspirant

R7000 Nighawk Internet speed limited

So I connected my ethernet cable to my pc and I checked on speedtest to verify and test the internet speed. We have fiber and our download/upload speed is 500/50 mbps. When I tested on speedtest I only got 300/50 mbps. 

I even tried testing on other computers and cables. I know 300 mbps is enough, but we pay for 500 mbps and I wonder why I won't get that speed when using a cable.

The router is updated to the newest version: V1.0.9.18_1.2.27

For some months ago when we first got fiber and purchased the router I got 500/50 with a cable connected to the router on my laptop. But now it's limited at 300/50.

I know it's a **bleep**ty written article but I'm not really good at it.

Thanks!

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 13

Accepted Solutions

Things that people have tried to fix the "router is throttling my modem" issue with various devices:

• Ensure that the cable from the router to the modem is up to the job
  • Check that you have the latest firmware (and "factory reset" the device)
  • Check that you have the right internet settings for your ISP (especially MTU)
  • Turn off QoS
  • Turn off the Traffic Meter

Netgear also advises that you should turn off QoS if you are on Gigabit Internet. You don't need it.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 13

All Replies

Things that people have tried to fix the "router is throttling my modem" issue with various devices:

• Ensure that the cable from the router to the modem is up to the job
  • Check that you have the latest firmware (and "factory reset" the device)
  • Check that you have the right internet settings for your ISP (especially MTU)
  • Turn off QoS
  • Turn off the Traffic Meter

Netgear also advises that you should turn off QoS if you are on Gigabit Internet. You don't need it.

Message 2 of 13
juched
Apprentice