Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2014-02-16

R7000 Unreliable

I bought the R7000 in mid-November. Client workstations periodically lose connection with the router. Power cycling the router will normally allow you to reconnect. The problem has become progressively worse. Yesterday, I updated to the latest firmware. The router worked OK overnight but now won't allow any connections (wired or wireless) and restarting it isn't helping.

Has anyone found a solution?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎2013-02-18

Re: R7000 Unreliable

Need some info:
1) wired or wireless connection
2) Cable or DSL??
3) Modem or Router/modem??
4) DHCP or Static Ip??
Valued Contributor
Posts: 405
Registered: ‎2013-11-30

Re: R7000 Unreliable

It is usually best to do a hard reset with the recessed button on the back of the router before and after flashing the firmware. Try doing a hard reset.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2014-02-16

Re: R7000 Unreliable

Lexist2112,

1. Clients can be Wired or Wireless.
2. Comcast Cable
3. R7000 connects directly (wired) to a ZyWall USG 20 Firewall
4. The R7000 uses a static IP on the local subnet
Regular Contributor
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎2013-02-18

Re: R7000 Unreliable

My guess is the firewall is blocking or preventing internet signal thru to the R7000. As a test can you remove the firewall from the network and connect a PC hardwired to the R7000 and test that machine for connection reliability???

I found a forum for your firewall, although it gives one's experience on how to block certain IP Address's, this may give some idea if you have the firewall config'd, may want to double check firewall settings as well.

ZyWALL-USG-200-Blocking-IP-Ranges
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2014-02-16

Re: R7000 Unreliable

No. I'm not getting that far. Workstations cannot connect to the Netgear either with wireless or wired connections. I can't even get to the web interface of the router when I'm plugged directly into it.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2014-02-16

Re: R7000 Unreliable

LeeH,

I'd really rather not blow off all my settings but I'll give it a try.
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2013-04-24

Re: R7000 Unreliable

Hi, you can back up ur settings first before doing doing the reset.

Please go to advances>administration>back up settings.
it takes a valid connection to communicate
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,461
Registered: ‎2008-04-22

Re: R7000 Unreliable

charm,

That is correct, BUT not recommended to use a backup config especially when trying to isolate / solve problems. Corrupt configs will transfer problem back into router.


Manually re inter configs is your best option.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎2013-02-18

Re: R7000 Unreliable

fang,

As others have suggested. Go ahead and take in sceen pics of your router setup and manually reset the router and reconfig router manually.
Discussion Stats
  • 16 replies
  • 4561 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Top Contributors
User Kudos Count
99
70
39
37
29