• 0 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Announcements

Top Contributors
Highlighted
Aspirant

R7000 VPN - scared of bricking it

Hi all,

I've just joined here after buying my new router.

Prior to posting I have been through some older posts that were recommended in relation to my query - I have some confusion as I have read some contradictory things on here/other forums but this being the official netgear community I've opted to post here first because, as the title says, I'm a scared man!

I am intending to use my r7000 as an access point into my BT Home Hub 5. On the r7000 I want to run it as a VPN for a couple of devices at home.

At present I have a subscription to Private Internet Access. In order to set that up I believe I would need to flash my router with DD-WRT. However, I've also read a lot of scare stories about doing this in terms of bricking the router. I'm kicking myself a bit as I could've just gone to FlashRouters.com and bought one already configured with PIA but as their prices are so high compared to waht the router costs I (stupidly) thought I could figure it out myself.

Looking through this forum I understand that DD-WRT isn't officially supported. However, I wondered if any owners have managed to successfully flash their router with DD-WRT and, if so, whether anyone can share a link/steps to a guide that I can follow, please.

I went over to the DD-WRT forums and got bogged down in a lot of technical information and couldn't see the wood for the trees.

Failing that, I'm wondering whether I should get a refund on the router and buy the same one from Flash Routers at the higher price or, if there's a working option via another VPN provider that someone could share? Want to keep this router if I can and feel like I've achieved something.

Thanks so much in advance.

P.

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 4
Highlighted
Guru

Re: R7000 VPN - scared of bricking it