Highlighted
Aspirant

R7000 VPN setup for entire home?

I am new to the VPN world and will be purchasing a VPN service soon.

I want to know if I'll be able to configure my R7000 so it automatically connects to my VPN service from my home network. I want to set things up so all computers and devices (regardless of OS) in our home would automatically connect to the VPN service via the R7000.

If the R7000 isn't able to do the above, I have a few questions:

1. Does Netgear plan on adding this VPN functionality to the R7000 via FW?

2. If not, is there a different Netgear router which can achieve the above?

3. If not, would I have to setup the VPN service at the device level on each separate device to be protected? If so, does this mean that I would not have to install the OpenVPN client on each device, but rather install whatever client my VPN service provides?

To be clear, I am not asking about if there's a way to reach our home network when we're away from home. I'm only concerned about secured VPN operation from home. Thanks for your help.

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 10
Highlighted
Guru

Re: R7000 VPN setup for entire home?

@droyder wrote:

I want to know if I'll be able to configure my R7000 so it automatically connects to my VPN service from my home network. I want to set things up so all computers and devices (regardless of OS) in our home would automatically connect to the VPN service via the R7000. 

It's not possible to do this with stock firmware.  It can be done with third-party firmware (DD-WRT, Tomato or Asuswrt-Merlin).  Note: Any VPN service that uses OpenVPN to operate will not perform well on the R7000.  The R7000's CPU is not well suited to performing the encryption required by OpenVPN.  I don't know the exact numbers but it may be in the 50 Mbps range or less.

Netgear has never expressed any plans to go in this direction.

Their SOHO/business-class VPN firewalls have this capability.