Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

R7000 or EX7000 for AP use

chkarta
Aspirant

R7000 or EX7000 for AP use

Hello all.

It is my first time/post here since i want to buy a good AP.

In all the reviews i read that R7000 has great wifi performance. Same applies to EX7000 as well.

I want to use it only for AP use but it would be nice to have a capable backup router just in case...

The thing is that i read a lot of bad things regarding R7000's wifi stability and perfomance. Are these issues gone with ther latest fw's ?

Do the same (issues) apply to EX7000 as well or the lack of routing options/capabilities provide a "cleaner" and more stable task (for the EX7000) 

They both cost the same where i live (Greece).

Thanks in advance.

Model: R7000|Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 13

Accepted Solutions
chkarta
Aspirant

Re: R7000 or EX7000 for AP use

Thanks for your input.

I finally ordered the EX7000. Routing options were not needed and i considered that a clean option could be better.

I intend to install the .32 firmware that is supposed to be issue free regarding basic functions.

Can you tell me the fw version you are using?

I read somewhere that for better signal/performance i should choose Japan as a country setiing. Is that correct?

Thanks again.

View solution in original post

Message 11 of 13

All Replies
netwrks
Master

if you want a device that could be a back up router, then the choice would be the R7000, as the EX7000 is an extender / AP, if configured that way..

Message 2 of 13
chkarta
Aspirant

Thanks for the reply.

First thing i want is stable wifi performance.

Only if both perform equally good(and stable) i will choose the R7000 for the extra routing option.

I want to know which one is more stable in AP mode.

Message 3 of 13
netwrks
Master

I have used both in AP mode. WIFI is based on your local environment. What works well for me / other, may not work well for you..

Message 4 of 13
Retired_Member
Not applicable