Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: R7000 shows strong signal, connection but no internet access - happens daily

gabgyhrt
Tutor

R7000 shows strong signal, connection but no internet access - happens daily

Hello -

Before I begin, let me say that I'm a little tech savvy, but not on the networking side; so, please provide answers like you are talking to your mother.

For the past month, I've had nothing but problems with my internet connection dropping overnight. My ISP said that it was the fault of my Medialink router, so I bought a Netgear, and things were working OK for a few days. No problems. Very fast connections, and I could use multiple devices.

Then, a few days ago the problem recurred:

- Each day, after about 12 hours of connection - usually around 2 or 3 a.m., both bands (2.5Ghz and 5.0Ghz) are disconnected from the internet. (I know this because one of my logs shows the disconnect time.) No devices can connect.

- Wifi Analyzer shows a strong signal. Windows internet connection troubleshooter shows no problems. Even the Genie shows a "good" internet connection.

- Rebooting the modem/router in the morning before work helps, but once rebooted, the connection is very slow to almost unusable. Streaming with the Firestick is impossible; some very slow internet browsing (about a minute load time) is possible with either the laptop or phone, but streaming via YouTube or other video is also impossible.

- I get frustrated, unplug everything, let it sit unplugged for the length of the workday, then plug/reboot everything then it works fine..... until the next 2-3 a.m. disconnection.

Things I've done to try to fix the problem:

- I updated to the latest the firmware.

- I changed the channel for the 2.5Ghz band from "auto" to channel 8, since there is no one around using that channel. The 5.0Ghz band uses channel 153, the default.