Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

R8000 has two Mac IDs

Jo_Neri
Aspirant

R8000 has two Mac IDs

I recently acquired a Nighthawk X6 R8000 router and connected to my fibre to home conection.

I noticed something peculiar.

The Mac ID of my Router is indicated as 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f1. Ever since I installed this router I noticed an increased data usage.

When I check the usage log on fibre ISP I noticed that the Mac ID of the connection was reflected as 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f2.

When I checked the router setup I observed that 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f2 is shown as the Mac ID of the internet port, ?? 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f1 is the Mac Id of teh router.

I am a rookie and a bit confused. How are there two Mac Ids for this router ?

Looking forward to an explanation.

Regds

Jo Neri

Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
TheEther
Guru

Re: R8000 has two Mac IDs

MAC addresses are tied to interfaces.  Therefore, it's normal for a router to have multiple MAC addresses.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 5

All Replies
StephenB
Guru

@Jo_Neri wrote:

The Mac ID of my Router is indicated as 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f1.

Is this on a label on the router?  Or are you seeing this mac address on a screen somewhere?  

Message 2 of 5
Jo_Neri
Aspirant

Hello Stephen

The 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f1. Mac Id is on the label of the router. It also shows under the Router information in "Advanced"

The 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f2 Mac Id is reflected in the "Internet Port" in 'Advanced'  and also reflects as the log in Mac Id on my ISP logs.

Regds

Jo

Message 3 of 5
TheEther
Guru

MAC addresses are tied to interfaces.  Therefore, it's normal for a router to have multiple MAC addresses.

Message 4 of 5
StephenB
Guru

@Jo_Neri wrote:

The 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f1. Mac Id is on the label of the router. It also shows under the Router information in "Advanced"

The 2c:30:33:d2:8c:f2 Mac Id is reflected in the "Internet Port" in 'Advanced'  and also reflects as the log in Mac Id on my ISP logs.