R8500 wifi dropping getting worse

dbell68
Aspirant

R8500 wifi dropping getting worse

Bought my R8500 in Nov 2015. Never had any success with the smart connect and keeping both 5Ghz radios stable. Always tried latest firmware but couldn't stop radio dropping unless I turned smart connect off. Now the 2.4Ghz radio is dropping out to the point where the router needs to be rebooted for new connections to be made. It has been reset and firmware reloaded more times than I care to recount so I'm not interested in any responses espousing such. I am a tech professional and have been through all of the supposed fixes, including alternate firmware too. No dice.

Seems there are thousands of posts about this same problem that NetGear has not been able to address in 2+ years. I attribute it to being an early version of hardware that was not ready for primetime but when you pay a premium price you expect premium quality.

So this is my last ditch attempt for NetGear to resurrect some customer sat here, but I'm not holding my breath. My various requests on Twitter did not even garner a response, never mind a satisfactory one.

If you're listening NetGear, if you can RMA this unit and get me something that lives up to the hype and price tag, I might just reconsider.

But as of right now, I'm done as a customer and I'm going to buy something else and I will warn off anyone and everyone that asks my advice about which brand to buy. You've really burned a lot of customers with this debacle.

Model: R8500|Nighthawk X8 Tri-Band AC5300 WiFi Router
Message 1 of 3

Re: R8500 wifi dropping getting worse

The rant may make you feel better but the volunteers here – this is mostly a user-to-user self-support forum with some input from Netgear's techies – need better information of what is going on.