Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Router/modem??

Chicky
Aspirant

Router/modem??

I was using an ASUS router plugged straight into my phone socket (the internet bit... you probably guessed I’m no tech expert). I’ve always plugged routers in like this and the work. I thought I’d upgrade to the Netgear Nighthawk R7000 as I suspect the ASUS router was faulty. I think I have now discovered this nighthawk thing needs a separate modem for it to work. Is this correct? Sounds like step backwards to me. Anyway, if it needs one I suppose I have to invest in one if it’s ever to work.
If I do need one, which one?
Message 1 of 5
plemans
Guru

Re: Router/modem??

What asus router were you using before? 

Whats on the other end of that "phone socket"?

I'm curious if its actually a phone socket (rj11) versus a ethernet connectiong (rj45). 

Do you have dsl service or fibre? 

Message 2 of 5
Chicky
Aspirant

That BT box has the telephone wire from outside, then one to the phone, other to the router.
I think it’s fibre up to the junction box in the street, then regular wire to the house. It’s working quite well today with a download speed of about 28mbps. Can’t seem to upload photos here. It’s an ASUS DSL N16 “modem router”
Message 3 of 5
plemans
Guru

the Asus is a modem/router combo device. The R7000 is just a router. the R7000 would need some type of dsl modem to connect. 

You could always put the asus in modem only/bridge mode. Use it just for the modem and connect the r7000 to it. 

Or even leave it as a modem/router and connect the r7000 to it in access point mode (disables its routing features)

both options would let you use the r7000 for its better wireless performance. 

Message 4 of 5

@Chicky wrote:
That BT box has the telephone wire from outside, then one to the phone, other to the router.
I think it’s fibre up to the junction box in the street, then regular wire to the house.