Slow lan speed fast WiFi

Dtully
Aspirant

Slow lan speed fast WiFi

Hey guys,

I'm not an expert in this field by any means so I could use some help solving this issue with answers being broken down barney style. My issue is this. I am supposed to bereceiving 250 Mbps per my contract with Comcast. When I run a hardwire from my router to my computer or any device, my LAN port LED lights are amber and I can only pump out 90 Mbps. If I connect wirelessly, I can get speeds on my computer of 250 Mbps. I use all Cat.5e cables to connect everything. The issue is the speed coming out of the LAN ports on my router. Any ideas?

Model: R7000P|Nighthawk AC2300 Smart WiFi Router with MU-MIMO
Message 1 of 20
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Slow lan speed fast WiFi

Is sure your modem and wired PC is connecting at 1000Mb and not 100Mb. Older modems and network adapter cards only supported 100Mb. Most devices now days are supporting 1000mb on the RJ45 ports.

Disable any QoS, Traffic Meter and access controls on the router.

Factory reset and set up the router from scratch with mimimal configuration and test.

Disable any PC security software temporarily.

My Setup (Cable 1Gbps/50Mbps)>CAX80 v2.1.2.1(LAG Disabled)>RBK853 v4.6.3.16(AP) & RBK752 v4.6.5.14
Additional NG HW: C7800/CM1100/CM1200CM2000, Orbi CBK40, CBR750, RBK50(v22), SXR30(v110), R7000(v34), R7800(v84), R7960P(v82), EX7500/EX7700, XR450(v120) and WNHDE111
Message 2 of 20
IrvSp
Master

Don't have an R7000P but I assume it uses the same Browser Genie as the R7000. If so, open it and then on the ADVANCED tab, on the INTERNET PORT box click on SHOW STATISTICS... it will show you how the ports connect. Suspect it will show 100Mbps.... so either the cable or the network adapter is limiting it.

Message 3 of 20
Dtully
Aspirant

It shows the following:

WAN: 1000M/Full

LAN1: Link Down

LAN2: Link Down

LAN3: Link Down

LAN4: Link Down

2.4G WLAN b/g/n: 600M

5g WLAN a/n/ac: 1625M

What does any of that mean?

Message 4 of 20