Sorry if this has been covered, I am a newbie. DRASTIC drop in Mbps 10ft away from router on wifi

KerryLeigh1213
Follower

Sorry if this has been covered, I am a newbie. DRASTIC drop in Mbps 10ft away from router on wifi

Connected I get over 100Mbps.  Disconnected right next to it I get 50Mbps.

10 feet away down to 25Mbps.  Upstairs in my office ( about 25 ft through floor) it is down to 14Mbps.

Is something set up wrong?  That is a drastic difference isnt it?

Model: R6700|Nighthawk AC1750 Smart WiFi Router
Message 1 of 4
IrvSp
Master

Re: Sorry if this has been covered, I am a newbie. DRASTIC drop in Mbps 10ft away from router on wi

Are you talking wired or wireless, or did you mean you got 100Mbps wired and a short distance way using wireless you got less?

Wireless may never be the same as wired. A lot of things matter for wireless besides distance away:

• SSID band you are on?
  • Channel used?
  • Security Used?
  • Other devices on the SSID?
  • Device used?
  • Number of antennea's on device?
  • OS used?
  • Latest driver for device?
  • Local signals creating Interference?
  • Composition of walls?

If on Windows and using Wireless, a good program to get is ACRYLIC. It will show signal strength, local signals and bands (if you have a DUAL BAND device), and channels they use. With that info you get a better handle if there is a problem and alter band channels to a less used one.

Message 2 of 4

Re: Sorry if this has been covered, I am a newbie. DRASTIC drop in Mbps 10ft away from router on wi

.... and if wireless, is that 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz?

Remember 5 GHz is faster but has a shorter range.

Just another user.

My network DM200 -> R7800 -> GS316 -> PL1000 -> Orbi RBR40 -> Orbi RBS50Y -> RBS40V
Message 3 of 4
duckware
Prodigy

In your client device, what is the PHY speed (see duckware.com/wifi#wifispeeds for Windows/Android).  Then in speed tests, you only expect to get around 50% of that.