WIFI SPEEDS w/different Devices Question

ESCF916
Aspirant

WIFI SPEEDS w/different Devices Question

Hi All,

I am new to the technical side of WIFI and had some questions. I recently bought a Nighthawk RAX120 router and had a few questions below:

*Why is it when I do my speed test on the NightHawk application on my phone, I show high download speeds but when I test those download speeds on my laptop or phone browser thru a third party source it shows significantly lower speeds? The applicaiton will show around 655+ Mbps downloads and the third party website on my laptop / phone browser will show in the 30s -90s Mpbs. I have a 2012 Macbook Pro and Samsung Note 9.

*Is my router WiFI 6 capable? 

Any help would be appreciated! 

Thanks

Model: RAX120|Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream WiFi Router
Message 1 of 5

Re: WIFI SPEEDS w/different Devices Question

@ESCF916 wrote:

*Why is it when I do my speed test on the NightHawk application on my phone, I show high download speeds but when I test those download speeds on my laptop or phone browser thru a third party source it shows significantly lower speeds?

It seems that the app is not measuring your wifi speed between the phone and the router. It is measuring the wired speed between the router and your Internet service provider.

In other words, it is the same measurement that you can make when using the browser graphical user interface and a wired connection.

Try running the speedtest app on your phone and see what that delivers.

Just another user.

My network DM200 -> R7800 -> GS316 -> PL1000 -> Orbi RBR40 -> Orbi RBS50Y -> RBS40V
Message 2 of 5
ESCF916
Aspirant

Hey Michael,

Thank you so much for the follow up!

I am currently using the Nighthawk application on my mobile phone. When I run the speed test on my mobile phone app it displays high speeds.

However, when I run the speeds on a 3rd party website on my laptop or a 3rd party website using my mobile phone browser, it is extremely slow.