Re: Why do I have to reboot almost weekly?

keredd1010
Aspirant

Why do I have to reboot almost weekly?

At least once a week, sometimes more, my internet connection drops to below 10mbps when I normally get about 118mbps. I usually find out when I go download sometimes and notice it is taking an extraoridinarily long time. I have tried updating the firmware, rolling back the firmware, spreading the connections to use as many 5.0ghz bandwidht as possible and still same issue. It's very frustrating because when the router is working correctly it is excellent and would love to recommend it to folks (I work in IT) but as it is now there is no way I could and save face. Of course a reboot fixes but there is no way I should be having to reboot this router once a week> once a month I could live with but this is out of hand. I would be very surprised if I was the only one who was facing this issue. All help and suggestions are greatly appreciated. 

Model: R7000P|Nighthawk AC2300 Smart WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router
Message 1 of 6
microchip8
Master

if you swap firmwares around, you have to perform a factory reset each time. This is almost mandatory for NETGEAR routers. 

So, choose a firmware version and after flashing do a factory reset, then enter the config manually. Do not restore from a saved config file as it defeats the purpose of factory reset

Routing: NETGEAR RAX43 - Firmware: V1.0.11.112 (1 Gbps down, 50 Mbps up)
Switching: 2x NETGEAR 8-ports (GS108v4) / 1x NETGEAR 16-ports (JGS516v2)
Desktop: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X - Server: Intel Core i7-7700K - NAS: Intel Pentium G4400, 16 TB
Message 2 of 6

@microchip8 wrote:

if you swap firmwares around, you have to perform a factory reset each time. This is almost mandatory for NETGEAR routers. 

Not really. Many people happily change firmware without needing to reset.

It is, though, recommended whenever someone experiences post-flash problems.