Highlighted
Tutor

WiFi download speed extremely slow or not working at all (iPhone + Netgear R6700v3)

Dear Community,

Experiencing chronic issues with iPhone WiFi throughput, specifically download speed...

This has been an extremely frustrating issue to troubleshoot and haven't been able to find any advice that seems to have consistently fixed similar issues reported by others. I have a Nighthawk AC1750 R6700v3 WiFi router that I've been using for about 8 months (07/2019) and have noticed intermittent issues with it. The R6700v3 is connected directly to a cable modem via Ethernet cable for Internet access. The cable ISP service package is set up for ~150Mbps down/~10Mbps up. There is a Win7 PC connected to the R6700v3 via Ethernet cable. I also have several iOS devices (iPhone XS Max, iPhone 7+, iPad Mini5, etc.) that connect to the R6700v3 via WiFi (either 2.4GHz or, when I'm right next to the router, via 5GHz). There is also an Amazon FireTV that connects via WiFi, as well as a work laptop (Win10) that connect via WiFi. 

With the Win7 PC (Ethernet connection), I will occasionally (but rarely - maybe once every 2-3 months) notice an issue where the Internet connection appears to be running slowly. On those occasions, I've gone to run a SpeedTest and will measure ~0.5Mbps down/~15Mbps up. If I run the SpeedTest several times consecutively, I usually see 2-3 results in that range and then, around the 4th or 5th test, I'll start seeing rates that I'm more accustomed to (~70Mbps down/~15Mpbs up, or better).

With my work laptop (Win10) and Amazon FireTV (which both connect via WiFi), I've never seen any noticeable connectivity issues. The work PC seems to run ok. The only issues that I've seen with the FireTV streaming is ~1 second of skipped audio every now and then, which a quick rewind will allow me to recover. Otherwise, I've not seen any pixelizing of video, screen freezes, video pauses for buffering, etc. that might indicate a throughput issue.