Xbox One Router Settings (for NBN)

imuin
Aspirant

Xbox One Router Settings (for NBN)

I'm new to the NBN (less than a month), and new to adjusting the more advanced settings in my router (Nighthawk D7000v2)

Before switching to NBN (FTTC), I didn't have a problem with my router or the settings. I was using my consoles wired, and wasn't experiencing any drop-outs. Since getting my FTTC NBN box, my Xbox One can't seem to stay connected for long. I contacted my internet provider (Aussie Broadband), and the tech could see that on his end, the Xbox One was causing my router to screw up. Something about forcing a connection and changing the settings? (I don't know all the correct terminology, apologies) We fixed up all the settings in my router, but I can't run my Xbox One wired without it cutting out my internet for all devices. If I run it wireless, it still drops. I can confirm I still have internet access during the drop-outs because my mobile and my PS4 don't drop out when my Xbox One does. There isn't anything wrong with the router, or faults on my providers side/the line. My speeds are almost exactly what my plan provides (94Mbps/34Mbps on a 100/40 plan, probably more wired). My NAT type should be open, as the tech from my provider opened it when I mentioned I was a gamer (thanks, bro)

Google tells me this is a common problem with the Xbox One's. A solution would be to change the ports/forward the ports on my router. I'm not exactly sure how to do that. I think a lot of port numbers need to be changed, but I don't know where to go in the router settings. Ports may not be the only thing that needs adjusting. I've heard the terms MAC address, QoS, static IP - and I'm lost on what exactly I need to change, and what should be left alone.