Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: r7000 drops internet connection

kmcghghy
Novice

r7000 drops internet connection

I've been reading reviews now and it appears now that the following is a known issue that they just refuse to fix.
I've been an IT System Administrator for over 20 years and I would not buy another Netgear product again after dealing with their support which doesn't admit there is a known problem.

I had the Netgear WNDR3400 and never had any trouble with it. I bought the Nighthawk R7000 and for $200 and my experience with other Netgear hardware I thought this unit would be great.

I have had nothing but trouble with it. The Nighthawk r7000 is constantly going down. I upgrade firmware and it craps out and I have to redo the configuration. I get up in the morning and no wireless, I have to reboot it. Sometimes it goes down 2-3 times a day. The other day I got up and again no wireless, I rebooted and that didn't fix it. I go into the configuration and it says the wireless is turned off. First time I had this issue and you have to hold the wireless button on the front for about 10 seconds to turn it back on.
This is ridicules that this unit has so many issues. Of course it's now out of the 90 warranty and Netgear says as long as the correct lights are on it not a
hardware issue so pay us to troubleshoot or fix it yourself. When the device is a lemon, you can't fix that!

NOW THAT I’M WRITING THESE REVIEWS, I FIND THAT USERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUES I’M HAVING. THEY HAVE ALSO CONTACTED NETGEAR TO NO AVAIL.
BOTTOM LINE, BUY ANOTHER PRODUCT.
Message 1 of 29

Accepted Solutions
Retired_Member
Not applicable

If the firmware was at fault I would think all of the r7000 out there on the same version would be affected. I use a R7000 and just yesterday re-installed 1.0.4.18 and then manually entered my settings.