× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Help me chosse a home router.

BLASIRL
Aspirant

Help me chosse a home router.

I am new to choosing and installing routers.   I think I have chosen the correct community but let me know if i have not.   

I currently have an ATT Uverse Pace gateway model 5268ACFXN and in the not to distant future will be switching to a T-Mobile gateway using Wi-Fi 6 with 4 x 4 MIMO and it is compatible with 5G NR, 4G LTE networks.  I do not know the model yet.

I currently have about 20 items connected.  I am interested in having a network drive, good security, the ability to use both wired and wireless connections.  My house has a basement, first and second floors.  The total square footage of all three levels is  2300 sq ft.  (~214 sq meters).  If possible it would be nice to include my attached flat deck of 330 sq ft that is attached to the long side of the house.  

I am not a gamer, but my two daughters dabble.   We would like to be able to stream reliably to at least devices at once, but normally two at a time.

What other relevant information should I include to get the best answer here? 

Thanks for looking!

Message 1 of 16
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Help me chosse a home router.

Be aware that the modems you mentioned already have built in routers and wifi already. This would be a double NAT (two router) condition which isn't recommended. This would be a double NAT condition which isn't recommended. https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT
https://kb.netgear.com/30187/How-to-fix-issues-with-Double-NAT

You can still connect another router to these using one of the below options.
Couple of options,
1. Configure the modem for transparent bridge or modem only mode. Then use the NG router in router mode. You'll need to contact the ISP for help and information in regards to the modem being bridged correctly.