Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Don’t buy Orbi Pro…Buy something else. Anything else…

Flash008
Luminary

Don’t buy Orbi Pro…Buy something else. Anything else…

Don’t buy Orbi Pro…Buy something else. Anything else…

I own Orbi Pro with two Pro Satellites. I also own the Orbi Outdoor RBS5OY.

Here are my problems and reasons to avoid anything product Netgear manufactures. If your intension is for business.

1. I updated to the recent GA firmware 2.2.2.210. It did not cause any obvious problems on day-1, beyond the normal Orbi known issues (drops, reboots, etc). However, I did notice my ability to transfer large files across my WIFI dropped speed considerably. I have no illusion that WIFI speeds don’t range and fluctuate randomly. I also know interference and other variables can cause problems. But I have historically been able to get 300-500 Mbps tested and validated using INTERNAL LAN TEST NETWORK PERFORMANCE TOOLS, not internet speed checks which are less reliable... I am a 20 year tech worker with extensive knowledge and experience with enterprise network devices, including WIFI and RF products. I know how to tweak and tune my Orbi to insure the most optimal performance. So, why did my speeds drop to 100-200 after applying the recent firmware. I did role back to 2.2.1.210. Factory resets, reboots, full re-configure. Hours wasted… Same result. Slow speeds. I considered rolling back to previous firmware, but you must be using at least 2.2.1.210 to avoid Netgear Orbi automatic updates. And typical Netgear. Silent! Repetitive! Script Kiddy responses. You may think you are interacting with a BOT with template answers. You are ON YOUR OWN! After they get your money.