Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Issues with Orbi Pro SXR80 and SXS80

wnichols2
Aspirant

Issues with Orbi Pro SXR80 and SXS80

I recently upgraded my home wifi system to Orbi Pro 6, and it is working fairly well. However, I am having two main issues (which could be related). They are as follows:

1. Firmware Update: I am unable to update the firmware. I have tried from the Insight apps on my phone and tablet as well as through the Insight Cloud Portal. I have tried manual updates as well as scheduled updates. They always fail. 
  2. Connection for Satellites: Both of my satellites are physically connected to the router with Ethernet backhauls (CAT6), but they will only setup with wireless backhaul. One of them has severely diminished speed compared to the other because the connection is Fair at best given the distance to the router. How do I set these up with Ethernet backhaul only? 

I am not a professional user, so apologies if these are basic questions. I have tried everything within my capabilities and just need some guidance to get this great system running properly. Thank you for your help. 

Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Issues with Orbi Pro SXR80 and SXS80

@wnichols2,

Welcome to the community! 🙂 

Let us try this.  Kindly follow the steps below:

1. Download the latest SXR80/SXS80 Firmware v3.2.3.100 here

2. Disconnect your SXR80/SXS80 from the existing network.

3. Manually update the firmware of the SXS80 then afterwards, update the firmware of the SXR80. 

4. Perform a factory reset on both SXR80 and SXS80.  Then, reconfigure the settings from scratch in order to start clean using the latest firmware version.

5. Check if the SXS80 will connect via ethernet backhaul.  Observe if the same problem will occur. 

Regards,

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 6

All Replies
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

@wnichols2,

Welcome to the community! 🙂