What are the advantages of the SRK60 over the RBK50 in a high user number congested network?

maltathebear
Follower

What are the advantages of the SRK60 over the RBK50 in a high user number congested network?

I work in retail sales and received two of the new SRK60 Orbi Pros last week.

Today I assisted a customer whose business has 10 different IP phones connected over WiFi via 10 range extenders (10 seperate SSIDs separate from the router, yikes!) and understandably was having a ton of connectivity issues. He also needed much better coverage to boot. He didn't want to install ethernet drops for each phone (all in separate offices), so I came up with two solutions:

1). Install 10 PL1010 Powerline adapters with a hard-line to the router and scrap the wireless entirely. The shared 1Gbps would be plenty for phone purposes and it has all the benefits of a hardwired connection. Office was new construction too so I wasn't concerned about the wiring slowing the Powerlines down.

2). Install an RBK50 to saturate the office with enough coverage and hardware throughput to handle the mess of range extenders he already had. I then made him aware of the "Business Solution" version of the RBK50, the new SRK60 Orbi Pros we had just received.

Ultimately he decided to try both solutions and opted for the SRK60. He asked whether the RBK50 and SRK60 would perform the same, and all I could really reference to as a benefit or the SRK60 in terms of juggling all those extenders was the SRK60's advertised 40-person simultaneous use ability and my guess that the firmware is better adapted for high volumes of individual users.

My question is: Would both have worked the same for this situation, i.e. do they both have the same processing power to muscle through a highly congested, high user network like his?

Thanks!

Model: Orbi Pro Tri-band WiFi System AC3000 (SRK60)
Message 1 of 3
StephenB
Guru