Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

LAN WiFi Speeds

Cameron_s92
Guide

LAN WiFi Speeds

Hi everyone, 

I am new to Orbi so not sure if I am missing something obvious or perhaps have just misunderstood something. 

I have a home server that I store media on and use as LAN storage for my other devices. 

I bought an Orbi RBR850 as it could transmit WiFi 6e using 6000AX protocol. So as I understand it, that means I could be able to recieve (in the regions of) 6000Mbps, or 6Gbps. 

As of yet, I am only receiving 1.2Gbps which is much slower than I was expecting, even after allowing for 'real world speeds'. I live in a small 2 bed house, and I am sat next to the router when I get this speed. 

I am checking this speed in the WiFi adapter properties on the Server and the Orbi app which roughly agrees. 

Am I missing something here or is the 6Gbps transmission rate a marketing pun that I have fallen for? 

Cameron_s92_0-1670946272297.png

Message 1 of 15
plemans
Guru

Re: LAN WiFi Speeds

Yes you did fall for some marketing. 
its an AX6000 device. 

Its triband with the backhaul being 2400mbps, and the fronthaul being 2400mbps on 5ghz and 1200mbps on 2.4ghz. (can't connect to both at once). And thats with a 4x4 antenna. 

Most phones/wifi cards are only 1x1 or 2x2 devices. (antenna). So your 1200mbps connection is right in line with what you can expect from a 2x2 device. 

Message 2 of 15
FURRYe38
Guru

"I bought an Orbi RBR850 as it could transmit WiFi 6e using 6000AX protocol." <FYI, the 8 series does NOT have 6Ghz or 6E support. Only Orbi 9 series has that. 

@Cameron_s92 

Message 3 of 15
Cameron_s92
Guide

So from what I've read on the datasheet, it has 2 channels at 2.4Gbps (one for WiFi and the other for satellites), and one channel at 1.2Gbps but I'm obviously only getting 1.2Gbps,which is half the maximum speed on the 5Ghz band. Have I understood that right and am I doing something wrong?
Message 4 of 15
plemans
Guru

Still reading a little wrong.