Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RBR750 Drop Wifi for 3-4 Minutes Multiple Times a Day...

mattg1960
Star

RBR750 Drop Wifi for 3-4 Minutes Multiple Times a Day...

Yes, I am having the same issue as everyone else; I can't access the router via a browser or the app.

But, like many, I also have Wifi (sort of).

I could live temporarily with not accessing the router directly if NG will fix this issue on a reasonable timeline.

But why does my Wifi drop at random times for 2, 3, or 4 minutes at a time?

It happens on both the 'Main' and Guest networks.

It always fixes itself with no interaction from me.

But we live in a neighborhood with zero cell service, and depend upon Wifi calling for our iPhones, and my wife relies heavily on Wifi for Zoom calls.

It's not the modem because I have plugged her MacBook Pro directly into the modem when this happens and her internet is fine.

Any solutions that don't require in IT degree?

Bear in mind that I am a graphic designer who is only moderately techie. When I pay this much for a well-reviewed product I expect it to work almost flawlessly.

The Orbi replaced an Asus Zen system which was also well-reviewed and turned out to be a piece of junk, along with Asus having the worst customer support I've ever experienced.

Thanks in advance...I am extremely frustrated with expensive tech that doesn't work.

Message 1 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

What Firmware version is currently loaded?
What is the Mfr and model# of the Internet Service Providers modem/ONT the NG router is connected too?

What is the size of your home? Sq Ft?
What is the distance between the router and 📡 satellite(s)? 30 feet or more is recommended in between RBR and RBS📡 to begin with depending upon building materials when wirelessly connected.
https://kb.netgear.com/31029/Where-should-I-place-my-Orbi-satellite 📡

What channels are you using? Auto? Try Auto and 48 on 5Ghz. Or try setting manual channel 1, 6 or 11 on 2.4Ghz and 40 to 48 channel on 5Ghz.