Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973
Reply

RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?

PaulQ_AZ
Tutor

RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?

I see that I can delete devices using the app. What happens if that device wants to connect again? Is it blocked or will it be allowed to do so?

 

I think I have an entry that isn't reading right. I am wondering if I delete it and it comes back, it will show it's on the main network, not the guest network.

 

Thanks!

Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?


@PaulQ_AZ wrote:

I see that I can delete devices using the app. What happens if that device wants to connect again? Is it blocked or will it be allowed to do so?

 

I think I have an entry that isn't reading right. I am wondering if I delete it and it comes back, it will show it's on the main network, not the guest network.

 


These are interesting questions.

 

Devices that are connected to the Orbi cannot be 'deleted'.  What would appear on the list of Attached Devices? An empty space?  If something is actually connected and has an IP address, (by definition) it cannot be 'deleted'.

 

Once a device is no longer connected to the Orbi, it will disappear from the Orbi 'app' connected devices and from the web interface Attached Devices.  However.... it will still appear on the web interface Advanced Tab, Access Control in the table "View list of allowed devices not currently connected to the network".  (You may have to scroll down the page to see this table.)  The device may be deleted from this table.  One might wonder, "what is the purpose of this table?"  Orbi remembers every device that has ever been allowed to connect.  Why?  Because the user may decide to enable Access Control which has two settings:

  • Allow all new devices to connect
  • Block all new devices from connecting

When the setting is "Allow" then obviously any device that knows the correct SSID/password can connect.

When the setting is "Block" (aha!) then the Orbi has to know what is "new" and what has been allowed before.

 

The only way to keep a device from connecting again is to (a) enable Access Control and set it to "Block" new devices, and (b) remove that device from the list of Allowed devices.

 

The second question is also complicated.  If a device is connected to the primary WiFi network (because it connected using the SSID/password for the primary network), but is reported to be connected to the Guest Network then that is a problem. 'Deleting' the device will not fix it.

 

My smartphone has been connected to both the Orbi primary and guest networks. (I mess around testing this and that.)  Sometimes I come home and attempt to open the Orbi 'app' only to get an error message, "You are not connected to...."  WTF??? (I swear at techonolgy) Then open the smartphone network settings and find the stupid phone connected to the guest network rather than the primary network.  Both networks have the same signal strength, and the phone has no idea that one is 'primary' and one is 'guest', so the phone just picked one.  (more swearing) Connect to the primary WiFi..... and the Orbi app opens just fiine.

 

Bottom Line: if the 'app' or web interface is claiming a device is connected to the wrong network, you need to decide if this is important enough to go down the 'rabbit hole' of Orbi 750 firmware issues*.... or ignore it.

 

*There are a gadzillion posts on the forum about issues with Orbi 750 firmware and fierce arguments about whether to load beta firmware (or not). It's your call.

 

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 5

All Replies
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?

Where are you removing this device in the app? Is this on the RBR web page or using the Orbi app? 

 

Message 2 of 5
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?


@PaulQ_AZ wrote:

I see that I can delete devices using the app. What happens if that device wants to connect again? Is it blocked or will it be allowed to do so?

 

I think I have an entry that isn't reading right. I am wondering if I delete it and it comes back, it will show it's on the main network, not the guest network.

 


These are interesting questions.

 

Devices that are connected to the Orbi cannot be 'deleted'.  What would appear on the list of Attached Devices? An empty space?  If something is actually connected and has an IP address, (by definition) it cannot be 'deleted'.

 

Once a device is no longer connected to the Orbi, it will disappear from the Orbi 'app' connected devices and from the web interface Attached Devices.  However.... it will still appear on the web interface Advanced Tab, Access Control in the table "View list of allowed devices not currently connected to the network".  (You may have to scroll down the page to see this table.)  The device may be deleted from this table.  One might wonder, "what is the purpose of this table?"  Orbi remembers every device that has ever been allowed to connect.  Why?  Because the user may decide to enable Access Control which has two settings:

  • Allow all new devices to connect
  • Block all new devices from connecting

When the setting is "Allow" then obviously any device that knows the correct SSID/password can connect.

When the setting is "Block" (aha!) then the Orbi has to know what is "new" and what has been allowed before.

 

The only way to keep a device from connecting again is to (a) enable Access Control and set it to "Block" new devices, and (b) remove that device from the list of Allowed devices.

 

The second question is also complicated.  If a device is connected to the primary WiFi network (because it connected using the SSID/password for the primary network), but is reported to be connected to the Guest Network then that is a problem. 'Deleting' the device will not fix it.

 

My smartphone has been connected to both the Orbi primary and guest networks. (I mess around testing this and that.)  Sometimes I come home and attempt to open the Orbi 'app' only to get an error message, "You are not connected to...."  WTF??? (I swear at techonolgy) Then open the smartphone network settings and find the stupid phone connected to the guest network rather than the primary network.  Both networks have the same signal strength, and the phone has no idea that one is 'primary' and one is 'guest', so the phone just picked one.  (more swearing) Connect to the primary WiFi..... and the Orbi app opens just fiine.

 

Bottom Line: if the 'app' or web interface is claiming a device is connected to the wrong network, you need to decide if this is important enough to go down the 'rabbit hole' of Orbi 750 firmware issues*.... or ignore it.

 

*There are a gadzillion posts on the forum about issues with Orbi 750 firmware and fierce arguments about whether to load beta firmware (or not). It's your call.

 

Message 3 of 5
PaulQ_AZ
Tutor

Re: RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?

I was only using the app. I did log into the web interface but I was considering it in the app. I think the explanation in this post basically leads to an answer to my question. Thanks!

Message 4 of 5
PaulQ_AZ
Tutor

Re: RBR750 - What happens when you delete a devive? Can it return later?

Thanks for taking the time to explain all of that. It helps. I ultimately decided to just get rid of the guest network and use the main network for everything. 

 

Why? After putting my multitude of smart home devices on the guest network... all of my Google Home/Nest devices did not like being on a guest network, frequent disconnects. My Nest Protect smoke alarms didn't like it either (had an actual smoke alarm and they never alerted our phones because they couldn't communicate properly on a guest network - it is not fun reconfiguring these smoke detectors).

 

Guest network is off for now. One of the smoke detectors still shows "(guest network)" on the Orbi list but I'm going to ignore it. There is no guest network and it reports it is passing its daily communication checks. Some other things report "(guest network)" too.

 

Side note: to be fair, the Nest Protects all worked even without communication to the outside world. They all went off in the house - blisteringly loud and speaking the location of the problem. They remain interconnected even without WiFi. Oh - and it was just something burning on the stove. All under control.

 

 

WHOA! I just opened the Orbi app and the device manager is completely redesigned!! Wait. Now it lists 9 items on the guest network. There is no guest network. This is screwy. Things on 5G that can't possibly be. Well, everything works so I am good.

 

Thanks!

 

Message 5 of 5
Top Contributors
Discussion stats
  • 4 replies
  • 2863 views
  • 2 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Announcements

Orbi WiFi 7