Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Does Netgear really "Push" critical security updates?

alokeprasad
Mentor

Does Netgear really "Push" critical security updates?

TLDR: Has Netgear "pushed" any firmware updates in the past 12 months? There have been critical security issues fixed during that period. User beware.  If not: Be pro-active. Don't ass-u-me that everything is OK by default.

Some here have been advocating against updating firmware if the systems are otherwise functioning OK.  The reasoning is that if the update was fixing critical security issues, Netgear would "push" it to the users, i.e., install it without any user intervention.

I am relatively new to the Orbi's, although I have been using various Nighthawk routers for decades before.  I have NEVER had a firmware automatically install without my intervention. 

Has that (push by Netgear) happened to Orbi users, like after March 2020, when some very critical security problems were revealed?  These were rated 9.4/10 by NG themselves.

Thousands of Netgear routers are at risk of getting hacked (March 2020)

79 Netgear Routers Vulnerable to Serious Security Flaw (June 2020)

If, in fact NG does not push critical security fixes to the devices, then it is up to the user to keep up with firware update releases, find out the changes in the release notes, look up info on NETGEAR Product Security and install the updated firmware after taking everything into consideration.

Model: RBK53|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi System
Message 1 of 22
vajim
Master

Re: Does Netgear really "Push" critical security updates?

If you're looking for the official Netgear policy, you may want to PM one of the moderators here and see if they will answer your question, otherwise what you'll recieve here is lots of personal opinions.  

Message 2 of 22
alokeprasad
Mentor