Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: It amazes me that a product so expensive would be so buggy...

TIMORLANG
Aspirant

It amazes me that a product so expensive would be so buggy...

So, got this product that is by all views is rather expensive and supposedly feature full. I have always considered Netgear a great network hardware provider especially in the home / small business market. I am an IT consultant and have worked with everything from CISCO edge routers to Load Balencers Iron from Foundry and everything in between. 

What really bothers me is that no matter what I try I am unable to disable to virus of a feature called Netgear Armor. It is designs like these that make companies like Netgear end up lossing market share. 

I am sure their automatic free 30 day trial and the general inability to disable this virus feature easily has made them some money. However, I think this is likely the last Netgear product that I will ever buy. 

Perhaps more companies need to understand that their solution is not always appreciated to be forced on all users. I am sure some users love this "service" and I am fine with it being an option. However, there should be a simple way to disable it that doesn't require you to have to reinitialize your whole network in order to do so. 

Perhaps, I will just return this product and find something that is a little more configurable that actually does what the user wants and not what the company who produced the product want to force the users to do. 

I am sure this post will likely be deleted. Because I really do not want a solution, as I have already seen 100s of others with the same issue to understand that it is solvable with some pain included. Do not think for one minute that this is not intentional. I am sure enough people try and just give up trying to disable this stupid armor that is forced on them.