Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: M4300 Inter-VLAN routing

holarsen
Aspirant

M4300 Inter-VLAN routing

New Orbi RBK53 fully updated (2.2.1.210) & GSS116E - ProSAFE 16-Port Gigabit Click Switch

Hi Guys,

This is my first time here and I hope I can get some input from you all.

I have a Fibre connection all the way into the house. The router delivered from the ISP is notoriously poor on LAN/WiFi side, but is providing a stable WAN connection. To cover the WiFi side I have just purchased a trio of Orbi RBK53.

So I've got the fixed modem from the ISP - and I want my new Orbi's to handle the DHCP etc for the network

2019-02-27 - Network.jpg

• I have created a network with the ISP modem 192.168.100.1/24
  • I have a Netgear GS116 Switch with 2 VLANs
    • VLAN1: Port1 Where the ISP modem is connecting to on its LAN side 
    • VLAN1: Port2 Here the Orbi's WAN port is connected and have the WAN IP 192.168.100.2
    • VLAN2: Port3 Orbi LAN side connected to Switch to expand wired capacity  
    • VLAN2: Port4-16 LAN "managed" from the Orbi DHCP
  • The Orbi has the IP 192.168.200.1 and is running the DHCP for the "internal" network including WiFi
  • This setup works for almost everything - WiFi and cabled network users have fast and reliable network, the Guest network works perfectly - the only thing that sofar isn't working is my QNAP NAS and the DDNS i relies on for updates, which influences the software updates of the NAS. I had a very similar setup working with a somewhat unstable TP router, where the WiFi simply was insufficient for the building, and now with my lovely new Orbi I can't get the last bit to work... 

I would really appreciate some input on where my problem might be.  

Best regards

holarsen

Model: RBK53| Orbi Router + 2 Satellites Orbi WiFi System
Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
ekhalil
Master

@holarsen wrote: