Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Orbi Dropping VPN Connection

saw676
Tutor

Orbi Dropping VPN Connection

I recently setup the Orbi in my home and I am experiencing frequent VPN drops on my work computer.  I am using the Cisco AnyConnect software for the VPN login.  I am assuming that the Orbi may be attempting to connect back and forth between the 2.4 and 5 ghz connections causing the VPN connection to drop.  Has anyone else experienced this and what can I do to resolve?  I am not a networking expert by any means, and my setup was completed based on the base Orbi settings.  This is severely impacting my ability to work efficiently from home.  Thanks!

Model: Orbi High-Performance AC3000 Tri-Band WiFi System (RBK50)
Message 1 of 18

hi so are you wandering about the house with a wifi client that has vpn connected ? as if so that in its self will cause the vpn connection to drop as the client device moves from sat

to router etc

Message 2 of 18
saw676
Tutor

I am stationary in the same room as the satellite and the connection is dropping.  Is it possible that my connection is going back and forth between the satellite and router?  The router is in the basement below me, so I would think the connection would stay on the satellite which is 10 feet away.

Message 3 of 18

get something like inssider app and test the signal and see how much overlap there is

Message 4 of 18
MarkC1024
Luminary

I got mine setup yesterday and no issues maintaining VPN with Anyconnect.  Pricey, but I'm liking this system.  Considerably better performance and range than my previous Airport setup with 2 extenders.  I work from home and need to have a reliable connection.

Message 5 of 18
mj55
Initiate

Same issue.  Orbi firmware is up to date.  I'm using Cisco AnyConnect on Windows with ethernet to router which makes me think it's not specifically related to wifi.