Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi Mini Router RBR40 cuts out every day

HascallDM
Aspirant

Orbi Mini Router RBR40 cuts out every day

My router (RBR40) stopped working about a week ago.  After going through the usual unplug and plug back in, it seemed to work fine for about an hour or so. So I did it again, and again, and again over the next 6 days.  I've spent a large amount of time on the phone with my ISP to determine that our signal is fine and that the problem is likely the router.  

I have tried moving my satellite.  This did not help.  Sometimes the satellite signal is good but the routers is not, and vice versa.  I purchased this in September of 2017.  I logged into my account to see a big red X next to everything Orbi offers.  I'm new to all of this and will admit that I have no clue what I'm doing but no help without paying a ton of money?  Seriously?  The thing isn't even two years old and I can't get customer service?

After reading some of these forums (which may as well be Latin because I can't understand a word) I decided to try the "start from scratch" method.  I got all the way to the last step and it asked me to find and connect to WiFi Network "Orbi84".  There is no "Orbi84" to select so I can't proceed in the install.  And now I can't even use the orbi profile I previously had.

No WiFi.  Frusteration for a week strait.  Nothing else to try.  If I unplug and plug back in, sometimes I get lucky for an hour or so.

Can anybody help me (understanding that I don't speak tech)?

I will likely just go buy another Router and I can sure as heck tell you it won't be anything from Netgear.  At least the rented garbage from the ISP will grant you some customer support.

Message 1 of 7
HascallDM
Aspirant

Re: Orbi Mini Router RBR40 cuts out every day