Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi RBR40 Lost Power & Will Not Reconnect to Modem

Ben8
Guide

Orbi RBR40 Lost Power & Will Not Reconnect to Modem

I lost power last night, but when it came back on the Orbi RBR40 router would not connect to my Arris Surfboard DOCSIS 3.1 modem.  The modem powered on just fine and is connected, but the router will not connect.  I've tried numerous ethernet chords and numerous ports, but nothing works.  To test, I've hardline connected my laptop directly to modem, and it works just fine.  The Orbi will not.  Not sure if this is related, because I'm a bit tech illiterate, but the satellite will not connect to the router either.  

I've tried power cycling the modem, router, and connected devices.  Did not work.  I tried reseting the router to factory default settings.  Did not work.  I called Netgear support, but they were no help.  The rep just wanted to charge me to have it looked at.  He did provide some links to try on my own, but nothing more than I had already tried, or they were links to support on other products.  

Any help or suggestions are immensely appreciated.  

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 32

Accepted Solutions
Ben8
Guide

Re: Orbi RBR40 Lost Power & Will Not Reconnect to Modem

I used Google Chrome. I’ve been on the phone and in a remote session with Netgear support for an hour and a half and they could not get it to work either. They had the same issue with the firmware files not downloading properly, so they’re sending me a new router and refunding me the support package expense.

Who knows how long it will take, so thank god for the phone hot spot.

Thanks again for the help!

View solution in original post

Message 27 of 32

All Replies
vajim
Master

how old is the Orbi?

Message 2 of 32
Ben8
Guide

less than a year.  Bought in Feb. last year.

Message 3 of 32
vajim
Master