Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Orbi System Functionality with GoGoGate2

almandr
Follower

Orbi System Functionality with GoGoGate2

I have an Orbi network that I have been using very successfully for several months. I received a GoGoGate2 to make my garage door smart for Christmas. While attempting to install this device I am conjsistently having problems connecting the Gogogate2 to my home network. What I understand from the Gogogate side is that it needs a 2.4ghz WIFI signal to pair with. I know the Orbi broadcast a 2.4 along to with two 5ghz signals. The techsupport with Gogogate is asking that I create a separate SSID with a 2..4ghz dedicated signal to clear up my connection issues. 2 real questions here: 1. Do you have a gogogate2 for your garage that you pair up with an Orbi? 2. Do you know if I can create a separate SSID with 2.4ghz only? It seems like I could just remove the 5g from my guest network but I cant figure out how?! -a non techy person
Model: RBK40| Orbi AC2200 WiFi System
Message 1 of 8
DarrenM
Sr. NETGEAR Moderator

Re: Orbi System Functionality with GoGoGate2

Orbi does not officially allow to separate out the networks but members in the community have shown a work around on how to do this.

DarrenM

Message 2 of 8
bobpar1
Aspirant