Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Ping randomly skyrocketing from 20ms to 12,000ms

Legendary
Star

Ping randomly skyrocketing from 20ms to 12,000ms

It all started this morning. I was playing PlayStation 4 with some buddies the all of the sudden I started lagging!

So I performed some ping tests and my ping was at about 12,000ms (12 seconds). So I restarted everything and it was good, until I started playing again and it would skyrocket back up to 12000-15000ms.

Not sure what happened! I didn't touch any settings. It was all random.

Also, I have 250 download, and 15 upload, so I don't think I'm out of bandwith.

I think this only happens when playing PS4, because I've been streaming 4K video for the last 15 minutes and I haven't had any problems. My PS4 is hard wired to my satellite.

Model: RBR50

Firmware: 1.11.0.20

Message 1 of 14

hard to say what it could be except with that small an upload limit it might be some device syncing with the cloud , eg itunes or google drive or one drive or it may just be updates , restarting the orbi will stop it temp and then it will restart 

have you also check games arnt updating in the background 

Message 2 of 14
Legendary
Star

Nope, there's nothing going on in the background of any computers or on my PS4.

Alsp, everything has been fine for 2 months until this morning. It's not like anything has changed. The only thing  I can think of is the firmware updating overnight, maybe?

Message 3 of 14

well check to see if it has updated but normally high ping spikes arnt related to the router its more ether a congestion or usage issue , wouldnt panic to much and just wait it out at least a day to see if it fixes its self you never know it might even be isp side of things 

Message 4 of 14
Legendary
Star

[Initialized, firmware version: V1.11.0.20] Saturday, June 24, 2017 09:35:59

Yup, this is probably the problem!