Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBR dropping wifi connection

ipp
Follower
Follower

RBR dropping wifi connection

I have been using RBR50 for the past 3 years. Had no issues until last week. Wifi connection keps dropig off. Hae to reset the ruouterand it woks for a whil and requires resetting. I have reset the router at least 10 times in last 2 days. Router Firmware Version V2.7.2.104. 2.4MHX is set Ch #6 and 5GHZ is set to 48. Please help.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 15
Frankca2015
Aspirant

Re: RBR dropping wifi connection

Same here. Happened just from today. Working fine for the past three years and the time I had to restart the router in today is larger than all counted. 

The only thing that came to my mind is I've updated to 2.7.2.104 recently, nothing else changed. With that said, I think I've updated for around a week or two with no issue, but just happend today(Mar 15, 2021). 

I'm considering to downgrade to the orginal firmware, but I cannot remember that number.

Message 2 of 15
FURRYe38
Guru

Any RBS deployed? What is the distance between the router and satellite(s)? 30 feet or more is recommended in between RBR and RBS to begin with depending upon building materials when wirelessly connected.
https://kb.netgear.com/31029/Where-should-I-place-my-Orbi-satellite

Try setting Auto on 2.4Ghz. 40 on 5Ghz.

Any Wifi Neighbors near by? If so, how many?

Try disabling the following and see:
Armor, Circle, Daisy Chain, Fast Roaming, Set 20/40Mhz Coexistence to 40Mhz only. Set Short preamble instead of Long preamble modes. Save settings and reboot the router and satellite(s).

One User Experience/Configuration:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Orbi/Most-Stable-Orbi-Configuration/m-p/1941087/highlight/true#M970...

@ipp wrote: