Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RBR50 Router going offline after almost 2 years

deeeteee30
Follower

RBR50 Router going offline after almost 2 years

I have been using the Orbi Router and Satellite for almost 2 years without a hitch.  Love it in fact.  

In the past week, however, we are having frequent drop-outs which is causing major grief.  The app shows the Router is offline.  Without any intervention it rectifies itself and goes back online.

In this time my mobile cannot get online, it says "connected without internet".  My google home appears to keep working however.  Does this make sense?

I updated to latest firmware and have power cycled through the modem, router and satellite.

Any suggestions as to why it's now doing this?

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 5
Mstrbig
Master

Re: RBR50 Router going offline after almost 2 years

@deeeteee30 wrote:

I have been using the Orbi Router and Satellite for almost 2 years without a hitch.  Love it in fact.  

In the past week, however, we are having frequent drop-outs which is causing major grief.  The app shows the Router is offline.  Without any intervention it rectifies itself and goes back online.

In this time my mobile cannot get online, it says "connected without internet".  My google home appears to keep working however.  Does this make sense?

I updated to latest firmware and have power cycled through the modem, router and satellite.

It's possible it is a connection problem. The 3 possibilities are network connection (dirty connection), network cable, or power supply.

Clean the connector by unplugging and plugging in the cable a few times. Check and/or change the network cable coming from your ISP modem to the Orbi router. Also check the power supply and make sure it is not getting hot or is defective. 

Message 2 of 5
FURRYe38
Guru