Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Router flashing purple

Cnamngrl14
Aspirant

Router flashing purple

I’m a novice and technophobe. My kids used to help me. My router has stopped working consistently. It sometimes flashes magenta. I’m not sure what color the satellite is but it’s hot in the wall. can search the web but everything is taking forever. How do I reset my router & satellite. I almost need someone to help me step-by-step.
Message 1 of 11
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: Router flashing purple

@Cnamngrl14 wrote:
I’m a novice and technophobe. My kids used to help me. My router has stopped working consistently. It sometimes flashes magenta. I’m not sure what color the satellite is but it’s hot in the wall. can search the web but everything is taking forever. How do I reset my router & satellite. I almost need someone to help me step-by-step.

We have all needed help, and wound up here.

It is often a good idea to describe

• The specific Orbi model router and satellite (found on the product label)
  • The exact model of modem the Orbi is connected to.
  • How often the problem occurs

The "ring light" at the top of the Orbi router "pulsing magenta" is supposed to indicate:
" Your Orbi router ring LED might pulse magenta for the following reasons: the WAN port link is down, the router is unable to get the IP address from the modem or ISP, or the router is unable to connect to the Internet. "  See this reference for more information:

https://kb.netgear.com/31030/What-do-the-LEDs-on-my-Orbi-router-and-satellite-mean 

I think "hot in the wall" is probably a typo.