Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: possibility of using ORBI as an AP to utilize my share drive on netgear on r6400

kb8man
Aspirant

possibility of using ORBI as an AP to utilize my share drive on netgear on r6400

Hi all had a cloud drive set up on my old router AC1750 (R6400)

Was wondering if I set up orbi 50 as an AP and turned off the wifi on the r6400 if my cloud drive would work? Also, If it can work how will it affect the speed or coverage of the orbi. 

So far the orbi has increased coverage and speed tremendously but I really need the cloud drive as I am a photographer and I back up field shots to the drive.

Suggestions on whether this will work or if it will cut down coverage or speed.... by using the r6400 as the router and letting orbi run wifi  and coverage.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 4
SW_
Prodigy
Prodigy

Re: possibility of using ORBI as an AP to utilize my share drive on netgear on r6400

@kb8man wrote:

Hi all had a cloud drive set up on my old router AC1750 (R6400)

Was wondering if I set up orbi 50 as an AP and turned off the wifi on the r6400 if my cloud drive would work? Also, If it can work how will it affect the speed or coverage of the orbi. 

So far the orbi has increased coverage and speed tremendously but I really need the cloud drive as I am a photographer and I back up field shots to the drive.

Suggestions on whether this will work or if it will cut down coverage or speed.... by using the r6400 as the router and letting orbi run wifi  and coverage.

Orbi is designed to work in two modes, Router Mode or AP Mode.  You won't lose any speed/performance/coverage with AP Mode.  Your cloud drive will continue to work as is because it's not affected by AP mode.