Guru

Re: New RBR850 / RBS850 Firmware Version 4.6.3.16 Released

👍

Message 176 of 317
xory72
Star

@ChristineT 

I am new to the Orbi RBK852 with 1 RBS.   I read nothing but great reviews by professionals.  I upgraded to the Orbi to get better speeds and expand my network coverage.  Install went perfect and easy.    3 weeks went by and nothing but great speeds and solid WiFI.   Then during the wee hours of the morning ... internet was lost.  RBK-850 was Solid Magenta.  Wifi was broadcasting, internal communication was working but nohing in or out via the modum.  Modum indicated all was good there and I did have VOIP phones.    Power Cycle the RBK852 (as I did not know of this issues since I was new to Netgear) and all was restored.   This lasted about 7-10 days and it happened again.   Then 4 days later again.  I thought I had bad hardware so I retuend and exchanegd the Orbi.   Did the new install from scratch and easy peasy.  All was good for about 10 days and bam ... lost internet, RBK-852 was Solid Magenta again ... internal commication but no Internet.  I logged in to the RBK-852 via the browser to look at status, health, IP addresses etc and all looked fine except "NOT ONLINE".  Now ... I started to research online and found this.   To be honest this is extremely disapointing that NG has let this go on this long.  I was reluctant to buy anything Netgear from past experices ... but the reviews were so good I thought I would give it a shot ... an now this.  Not a very good way to win back customrs that left you in the past NG.  I work in broadcast and have many customers ask me about WiFi routers etc ... I can assure you if this does not get fixed quickly ... Netgear and or Orbi wil NOT be recommened.    This has caused me many issues of not being able to be online, many hours or trying to figure out what my issue is and scraching my head as to why my $125 wireless router was and still is more reliable (minus the speeds) then this NEW 5x the price more Orbi mes