Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Slower than advertised speeds AX4200?

artsoto23
Aspirant

Slower than advertised speeds AX4200?

Hello, Newbie here, I just bought this ax4200 RBR750, and was wondering why my speed is not where it should be, I have hooked up directly to my fiber box, not a modem, (I was told) this fiber box does not have a coax connection to install a modem, just ethernet cord to router, even with my iPhone 12 Pro Max, I can't break 290 mbps down on wifi, I was getting that with my isp supplied router, any ideas? I have one satellite 15 ft away, I really want to give this router a shot, since I have heard good things about it, thanks
Message 1 of 12
FURRYe38
Guru

What Firmware version is currently loaded?
What is the Mfr and model# of the Internet Service Providers/ONT the NG router is connected too?

What Speeds up and down do you pay for from your ISP?

15 feet between the RBR abd RBS is too close.  30 feet or more is recommended in between RBR and RBS to begin with depending upon building materials when wirelessly connected.
https://kb.netgear.com/31029/Where-should-I-place-my-Orbi-satellite

I've seen speeds around 600-700Mpbs with my 12Max on a 1Gb ISP line. Thats about the higher limit for these models I believe. 

Message 2 of 12
artsoto23
Aspirant

V3.2.16.22, I'm paying for 1 gig up/down, DTC communications is my isp provider, the "fiber box" has no info on it, literally a black box with lights in front of it, and ethernet ports in back of it, of which I have my orbi router connected to it via ethernet
Message 3 of 12
FURRYe38
Guru

Are you getting near 900Mpbps at the RBR with a PC or laptop? 

Turn OFF the RBS and connect the iphone to the RBR. Speed test with Ooklas installable speed test app on the phone. 

Also I mis-spoke about iphone speeds, They will max agout at around 400-500Mpbs, not 600-700. This is due to the antenna configuration on the iphones. 2x2. IF they supported 4x4, then the speeds would be higher.