Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: rbr750 won't allow my 2.4ghz gadgets to connect - annoyed - help?

bigbusa
Follower

rbr750 won't allow my 2.4ghz gadgets to connect - annoyed - help?

Orbi has worked well for whole house wifi coverage but it's been a royal PITA for my 2.4ghz cameras. I have a ring doorbell that won't connect well enough to allow "live view".  I called RING and they were of no help. 

I have 3 "icsee" PTZ cameras that ONLY work on 2.4ghz and will not connect to 5ghz that orbi seems to ONLY provide. When trying to re-set up the cameras, the camera app specifically says it ONLY workswith 2.4 and tells me I can go to my wifi settings in my phone and change it from 5ghz to 2.4. However, when I try this, it does show that my phone is on 5ghz BUT it will not allow me to change it to 2.4. 

I'm not a techie. I'm 54 years old. I want to plug things in and have them just work. LOL They worked FINE until I switched my router to an orbi. Now all of my security cameras won't connect. I have great whole house wifi coverage but half my things don't work anymore. 😠 

Message 1 of 7
FURRYe38
Guru

Netgear has set up a community forum specifically for the Orbi AX product. Most of the people who watch that forum are more likely to have experience with Orbi AX and know how to work it better than those of us who follow this "general Orbi" forum. Might be more likely to find someone who has a solution if the question is posted there:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Orbi-AX/bd-p/en-home-orbi-ax

Thank you.

Message 2 of 7
CrimpOn
Guru

@bigbusa wrote:

Orbi has worked well for whole house wifi coverage but it's been a royal PITA for my 2.4ghz cameras. I have a ring doorbell that won't connect well enough to allow "live view".  I called RING and they were of no help.