Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Drop in Download Speed - RBR750 with Satellite

Bobkc
Star

Drop in Download Speed - RBR750 with Satellite

I have been using the using the Orbi RBR750 for 8 months now and 30 days ago the download speed dropped from 940mbs to 610mbs.  Have noticed the satellite has been indicating that it is receiving periodic weak reception during this time period when the speed dropped.  Upload speed has been consistent/unchanged at 41/42mbs.  Verified that the most current firmware is installed.

When ethernet connected directly into the Orbi, the desktop will pull the 940mbs.  When on wireless, it drops to 610mbs.  Desktop is literally 1 foot away from the main Orbi so there is no interference.  I have tried a power down and a factory reset and it has had no change on the situation.  I have powered down the satellite as well as the modem with no change.  

Have tried various speedtests providers and using the Orbi app and still the same results.  The entire environment uses Apple devices.  Orbi is ethernet connected to a Netgear CM1150.  

Ideas???

Message 1 of 19
FURRYe38
Guru

NG is aware of problems of recent FW versions and is working on it. 

Please contact them directly to let them know what your seeing. 

Hopefully will be fixed in next FW update. We don't know when that will be so be patient. 

Netgear has set up a community forum specifically for the Orbi AX (WiFi 6) products. Most of the people who watch that forum are more likely to have experience with Orbi AX and know how to work it better than those of us who follow this "general Orbi" forum. Might be more likely to find someone who has a solution if the question is posted there:
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Orbi-AX/bd-p/en-home-orbi-ax

Thank you.

Message 2 of 19
LJ3000
Guide

I am having the same issue and was directed to this site.

CBR750 — Orbi WiFi 6 DOCSIS 3.1 Mesh WiFi Cable Modem Router

Firmware version V4.6.3.6
App version 2.11.0.11