Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

AC2200 vs AC3000

Libertas1
Aspirant

AC2200 vs AC3000

I am new to mesh wifi.

Costco is offering the AC2200 for $169 as there is a coupon.  I saw that there is also an AC3000 and watched a tutorial for that.

I have a single story, 3 bed 3 bath house with 2000 sq ft.  Would the AC2200 be sufficient for me?

If I have Comcast/Xfinity come out and install in my new home, and I also have this device:

a. Assume the tech from Comcast will NOT install it?

b. If I am going to use the Orbi, what do I have the installer do differently?

c. Is Comcast installing a combo modem router or just modem?

Thanks...

Model: RBK30| Orbi AC2200 WiFi System
Message 1 of 11
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: AC2200 vs AC3000

@Libertas1 wrote:

I am new to mesh wifi.

Costco is offering the AC2200 for $169 as there is a coupon.  I saw that there is also an AC3000 and watched a tutorial for that.

I have a single story, 3 bed 3 bath house with 2000 sq ft.  Would the AC2200 be sufficient for me? Yes, I have a 5000sq ft two story home and my cable modem Orbi which is AC2200 works great. 30 feet is recommended in between the Orbi router and satellite(s) to begin with depending upon building materials.

If I have Comcast/Xfinity come out and install in my new home, and I also have this device:

a. Assume the tech from Comcast will NOT install it? Correct

b. If I am going to use the Orbi, what do I have the installer do differently? If possible, have the ISP tech install a modem only unit. Something with out a built in router. If possible. 

c. Is Comcast installing a combo modem router or just modem? If possible, have the ISP tech install a modem only unit. Something with out a built in router. If possible. 

Modem Combo Units:
Couple of options,