Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Adding Orbi RBK53 to home office

wildpete
Aspirant

Adding Orbi RBK53 to home office

I am brand new to Orbi, and not a technical wizard by any means. I have recently moved my business into a home office and have 4 Mac computers and a Xerox laser printer networked via a Linksys 16-port gigabit switch. The printer and 2 of the computers do not have WiFi capability (they are old). My DSL service comes into a Comtrend modem (rented from my phone company). Office space is above a detached garage/shop within 50 feet of the house. Currently the WiFi can reach the nearest room of the house, but not the entire house. My goal is to extend the wireless signal to the entire house, allowing me to eliminate paying for 2 DSL services. My question is, do I connect the Orbi router after the switch, or between the switch and the modem? I sincerely appreciate any help!

Model: RBK53|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi System
Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
CrimpOn
Guru

@wildpete wrote:

I am feeling a bit less overwhelmed now. Thank you for this information. And I really appreciate the plain talk. Is putting the rented modem into "bridge" mode something I can do or does the ISP have to do it?

Got me there.  My guess is you need to call their support line and say, "I got a new WiFi system and they tell me that the Comtrend has to be put into 'bridge or passthrough mode'.  Can you do that for me, or can I do it myself?"  If they cannot do it or tell you how to, then you put the Orbi into AP mode and get on with life.

I had a service call from Spectrum several months ago and I said to the tech, "Hey.  I have no use for the router and WiFi since I have my own.  Can you just install a 'plain modem'", and he said, "sure. no problem."

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 6

All Replies
FURRYe38
Guru