Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Atem Mini Pro given 169.xx IP

northern1984
Aspirant

Atem Mini Pro given 169.xx IP

I have an Atem Mini Pro connected via ethernet to an Orbi Satellite but given a 169 IP address.

Apologies in advance for my lack of understanding of networking. I am not very technical but below is the my set up and any checks I have done.

SET UP:

• Virgin Hub 3.0 in Bridge Mode
  • Orbi Router (wired) to Virgin Hub in Router Mode providing IP etc. 
  • 2 x Orbi Satellites (1 downstairs and 1 in the office).
  • These satellites are connected to main router wirelessly

Office:

• iMac connected via ethernet to Orbi Satellite - WORKS great. 
  • Atem Mini Pro via ethernet to Orbi Satellite - Not working. Given 169.xx IP.

Things I have tried:

1. Put ethernet cable from Atem in to my iMac. My iMac still gets connectivity.
  2. Put ethernet cable from iMac to my Atem and Atem still doens't get connectivity - still given 169 IP.
  3. I have tried connecting the Atem to the router instead of the satellite - still given 169 IP 
  4. I have unplugged my iMac from ethernet and turned on Wifi. I then plugged ethernet cable from Atem to my iMac, turned on internet sharing via Wifi using ethernet and the Atem finally gets a correct IP address of 192.xxx (but won't direct in to the satellite)
  5. I have rebooted the router - still no change

I have no idea why it's been given a 169 IP address when there is no problem with the cables or satellite is working fine and would really appreciate some help here if you can. 

I have exhuasted my technical level so please, if any help advise me how / where I need to go to do what you suggest. It would be appreciated.

Thanks

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 10
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: Atem Mini Pro given 169.xx IP

@northern1984 wrote: