Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Attaching 2.4mhz Smart Wifi downlights

phydauxs
Tutor

Attaching 2.4mhz Smart Wifi downlights

I have the following setup:

RBR50

2 x RBS 50 satellites

RBK40 both router and wall plug used as satellites to RBR50

The system works perfectly giving me great coverage in a detached garage some 30 metres away from the main house

I'm building a unit above the garage and I would like to install some 'smart' wifi  downlights which I will be able to turn on and off using a google home hub.

The downlights only work on 2.4mhz. Am I able to use my setup which is also 5mhz to control the lights? If so, how do I do it so I dont lose any funcationaltiy that I already have? I have little technical knowledge about how it all works and would appreciate anyone who could provide some advice. Thank you.

Model: RBR50|Orbi AC3000 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 8
phydauxs
Tutor

Re: Attaching 2.4ghz Smart Wifi downlights

Message 2 of 8
phydauxs
Tutor

Re: Attaching 2.4fhz Smart Wifi downlights

That should read GHz and not Mhz. sorry.

Message 3 of 8

My guess that this will depend on the lights and whatever you use to control them. You don't say what make they are, so it is anybody's guess.

Your lights will connect to the router at 2.4 GHz. If the control connects at 5 GHz it should not worry about the frequency.

Message 4 of 8
CrimpOn
Guru

I agree with @michaelkenward .  Once a "smart thing" is connected to WiFi, there is (usually) no direct connection between the "thing" and whatever smartphone/tablet is being used to control it.  The thing opens a connection to a cloud service and the smartphone app also opens a connection to the cloud service.  Remember: the app can be used to control the thing from anywhere, even when the smartphone is not connected to your WiFi.