Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Can't reach Synology server on wired connection - any suggestions?

wanderer168
Aspirant

Can't reach Synology server on wired connection - any suggestions?

Hi all, I'm new to networking, so I'm sure my issue is probably something simple that I'm overlooking - thus I'm hoping for some quick advice:

My setup currently: I have a Nighthawk R7000 router on which I connect 4 hardwired devices, one of which is an HP Windows 10 Desktop and an Orbi RBR20 Router (which has 2 satellites).  The R7000 has wifi turned off, and all my wireless devices connect via the Orbi mesh. The R7000 is on a 192.168.1.1 network, but the Orbi (when I set it up) in order not to cause a conflict, put all wireless devices on a 172.16.0.1 subnet.  Now, connected via wired ethernet into the Orbi is a Synology DS1511+ server.  

(Rough image attached of my setup)

Everything basically works fine, except my Windows Desktop cannot access the Synology server.  I am assuming it is because the 2 devices are not on the same subnet.  But the Orbi won't let me change it to the same subnet as the R7000 as it'll "conflict" with the R7000.

What are my options to allow my wired windows machine to "talk" to the Synology server?  What simple thing am I missing?

Thanks for the input.

Model: R7000P|Nighthawk AC2300 Smart WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router
Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
CrimpOn
Guru

Re: Can't reach Synology server on wired connection - any suggestions?

Since you want to keep the R7000 router, the quickest and easiest solution is to put the Orbi into Access Point (AP) mode.  Connect to the Orbi web interface with a web browser and Navigate to Advanced Tab->Advanced Setup->Router / AP Mode.