Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Design Hep for Orbi

WestMilford-Di
Aspirant

Design Hep for Orbi

I have a very long one story house and am currently using a router & range extender (see diagram on placement). The range extender does an OK job but does not reach out to cover my pool or external garages. I am thinking of switching to an Orbi system. I am looking at the AC3000 RBK50.

I assume that I would replace my current router with the Orbi router and current extender with the Orbi Satelitte. (correct?)

For the external coverage, I have electric power in both garages.

Should I get another satellite and put in inside garage A?

will the satellite need to talk to the Orbi Base or Obai satellite in the main house?

Will this cover the pool area?

Or do I need to get the outdoor satelitte unit?

I am new to this so sorry if these questions are basic and repeated in the forum. If you need further details, please let me know.

Thankful.

Model: RBK50| Orbi AC3000 High-Performance Tri-Band WiFi System
Message 1 of 14
FURRYe38
Guru

Where is the current router place now? Next to the modem? 

I have a similar rectangular house and have my Orbi up up stairs on the 2nd level at one and of the house and my Satellite at the opposite far end of the house and both connect well and have great speeds and performances and coverage. My house is 5000Sq ft. 

Message 2 of 14
tucsontico
Virtuoso

More information is needed to give you a better answer. You state you have a "long one story" house. How long? What kind of construction, e.g., drywall over wood framing or concrete block & stucco? How many walls between the Orbi base and Orbi satellites? What is the approximate area you're trying to cover in square feet?