Highlighted
Aspirant

HELP! Orbi Wall-Plug Whole Home Mesh WiFi System RBK33

Help please! I purchased the Orbi Home Mesh Wi-Fi System (RBK33) in January. My FIOS router was just upgraded to support 802.11AC at 100/100Mbps and now my internet is much slower. When disconnecting the Orbi, the internet is really fast but does not reach as far in the house. Is there a fix for this or am I just using old technology now?

Please keep in mind that I am not tech savvy at all so dumb it down for me if you can. Smiley Happy Thanks!

Model: RBR20|Orbi AC2200 Tri-band WiFi Router
Message 1 of 16
Highlighted
Guru

Re: HELP! Orbi Wall-Plug Whole Home Mesh WiFi System RBK33

What Firmware is currently loaded?

What is the Mfr and model# of the ISP modem the NG router is connected too? Built in router here? If so, This would be a double NAT condition which isn't recommended. https://kb.netgear.com/30186/What-is-Double-NAT
https://kb.netgear.com/30187/How-to-fix-issues-with-Double-NAT
Couple of options,
1. Configure the modem for transparent bridge or modem only mode. Then use the Orbi router in router mode. You'll need to contact the ISP for help and information in regards to the modem being bridged correctly.
2. If you can't bridge the modem, disable ALL wifi radios on the modem, configure the modems DMZ/ExposedHost or IP Pass-Through for the IP address the Orbi router gets from the modem. Then you can use the Orbi router in Router mode.
3. Or disable all wifi radios on the modem and connect the Orbi router to the modem, configure AP mode on the Orbi router. https://kb.netgear.com/31218/How-do-I-configure-my-Orbi-router-to-act-as-an-access-point and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7LOcJ8GdDo&app=desktop 

I recommend trying option #3...

What is the size of your home? Sq Ft?
What is the distance between the router and satellite(s)? 30 feet is recommended in between RBR and RBS to begin with depending upon building materials when wirelessly connected.