Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Hello DarrenM

Retired_Member
Not applicable

Hello DarrenM

Hi DarrenM

As someone who appears to have an inside view of the Netgear Operations, can you answer the following:

1.  Why does it appear that each Orbi firmware update continues to create home network issues? (Fix some/break some)

2.  Does the Netgear firmware engineers view the posts here?

3.  Advice to those who may have no issues with their Orbi with regard to the 'need' to update the firmware.

Thanks for your time.

Model: RBK53| Orbi Router + 2 Satellites Orbi WiFi System
Message 1 of 4
DarrenM
Sr. NETGEAR Moderator

Hello VAJim

1. I am no engineer but the engineers are trying there best to keep adding features and fixing issues that sometimes new issues start happening they may not shown up in internal testing.

2. Yes the community is viewed by the teams that develop the products I also inform them of what is being said.

DarrenM

Message 2 of 4
aaz
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

@Retired_Member wrote:

1.  Why does it appear that each Orbi firmware update continues to create home network issues? (Fix some/break some)

3.  Advice to those who may have no issues with their Orbi with regard to the 'need' to update the firmware.

I know it was not directed to me, but as a former software developer and someone currently in IT.