Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7(BE) technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.

Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Help, totally confused about Orbi set up !

Coulsonm
Aspirant

Help, totally confused about Orbi set up !

Hi All

A newbie here from the UK , and one that isn't particularly technical, so go easy! 

Just need some help with the set up of my Orbi, I tried for 5 hours last night but it was hopelessly unstable, works one minute, not the next etc. I'm thinking there could be conflict with the Orbi and the existing Modem/Router, as described below.

Here's my set up and the problems encountered:

1) Fibre connection comes into the Garage (BT openreach, about 70mbps so not great)

2) Fibre Connected to Vodafone Modem/Router in the garage. Note: this can't be configured in modem only mode, so this may influence some of your answers.

3) Orbi Router connected via ethernet to Vodafone Modem/Router. It is also located in the garage.

4) Orbi then connects via ethernet to 24 port switch. I have 20x Cat 6 ports over the house all coming into the central switch.

The problem:

I have a lot of concrete in the house, a wireless killer. It's also quite a big house, so I have the Orbi Router and 3 x AC2200 satellites. I need to be able to connect the orbi's via wired backhaul if possible, I had the problem with a Deco mesh before that the satellites struggled to connect to each other due to the solid walls. I want to overcome this problem with wired backhaul.

A few questions:

A) Given that I can't disable Router mode on my Vodafone Modem/Router, should I configure the Orbi in Access Point mode? Does this impact performance? Not sure I understand that much about it all.

B) Can I still use wired backhaul in Access Point mode?

C)I want to connect the satellites back to the Orbi Router via wired backhaul, not to each other. Do I therefore disable Daisy Chain?